Skip to main content
July 19, 2019
  • UH President David Lassner and UH Board of Regents Chair Benjamin Kudo with the 2019 Regents and Presidential Scholarship winners.

Regents Scholarships

The UH Regents Scholarships are awarded to 20 incoming freshmen attending UH Mānoa, UH Hilo and UH West Oʻahu.

The students receive four years of paid tuition for undergraduate studies, a stipend of $4,000 per year and a one-time $2,000 travel voucher. They also have the opportunity to participate in a number of activities.

“So with this program we also create activities for them throughout the year with their peers that we think will help them become more successful in college and also after they go out into the community,”

- UH President David Lassner said.

The scholarships were welcome news to the Tucker family. Two of the triplets received Regents Scholarships after graduating from Waipahu High School.

“For us it’s really a huge relief because we were considering going to UH anyway. Having two scholarships really helps us to pursue our careers,”

Dylan Tucker said. 

Linnea Tucker said she sees other advantages to remaining in Hawaiʻi. “For me, I like to think the networking is really nice,” she said. While she is a declared nursing student, she has other plans as well. “I want to have a future career in law and currently have an internship with Judge (Edward) Kubo. I hope to continue that as I attend UH.”

Presidential Scholarships

The UH Presidential Scholarships go to 10 juniors attending a UH campus. Presidential scholars receive full tuition for two years of undergraduate study. The scholarships are awarded with preference for UHcommunity college students with high GPAs transferring to a four-year UH campus.

Regents Scholars:

  • Phillip Amona, Kamehameha Secondary Schools, Mechanical Engineering, UH Mānoa
  • Alisha Churma, ʻIolani School, Communication, UH Mānoa
  • Zyrill Dane Dela Cruz, Waipahu High School, Chemistry-Biosciences, UH Hilo
  • Lauren Horita, Kalani High School, Dietetics, UH Mānoa
  • Adam Hu, Hawaiʻi Baptist Academy, Electrical Engineering, UH Mānoa
  • Miles Jenkins, Kailua High School, Physics, UH Mānoa
  • Michaela Kop, Moanalua High School, Cell and Molecular Biology, UH Mānoa
  • Tyler Maruno, ʻIolani School, Mechanical Engineering, UH Mānoa
  • Tiffany Ng, Sacred Hearts Academy, Biology, UH Mānoa
  • Kengo Raganit, Waipahu High School, General-Undeclared Liberal Arts, UH West Oʻahu
  • Shane Severino, ʻIolani School, Chemistry, UH Mānoa
  • Cassidy Silva, Mililani High School, Biology, UH Mānoa
  • Ashley Taylor, Kalani High School, Communication, UH Mānoa
  • Dylan Tucker, Waipahu High School, Civil Engineering, UH Mānoa
  • Linnea Tucker, Waipahu High School, Nursing, UH Mānoa
  • Deborah Yuan, Kaiser High School, International Business, UH Mānoa
  • Kayla Hirano, James B. Castle High School, Computer Engineering, UH Mānoa
  • Mika Odaira, Waiākea High School, Business Administration, UH Hilo
  • Benjamin Weiss, Kalaheo High School, Physics, UH Mānoa

Presidential Scholars:

  • Gabriel Allen, Biochemistry, Kauaʻi CCUH Mānoa
  • Emily Bautista, Public Health, UH Mānoa
  • Kiaria Nakamura, English, UH Hilo
  • Shawnia Oliveros, Social Work, Leeward CCUH Mānoa
  • Dylan Pilger, Biochemistry, Kapiʻolani CCUH Mānoa
  • Camryn Shiroma, Classics, UH Mānoa
  • Marie Villareal, Public Administration, UH Maui College, UH West Oʻahu
  • Hanna Claerbout, Business, UH Mānoa
  • Kasey Emoto, Biology, UH Mānoa
  • Celeste Guiles, Chemistry, Kapiʻolani CCUH Mānoa

If you would like to learn how you can support UH students and programs like this, please contact us at 808-956-8700 or send us a message.